YOUR COURSE-BOOK (B1+)

SPSPW

News animatedI´M ATTENDING A CONFERENCE IN LONDON NEXT WEEKEND ON “SPEAKOUT MATERIALS”.

IT WOULD BE INCREDIBLY USEFUL IF YOU COULD GIVE ME ANY KIND OF FEEDBACK ON THE COURSE-BOOK FROM A STUDENT´S POINT OF VIEW. THINK ABOUT GOOD AND BAD POINTS, AREAS TO IMPROVE ETC…

CONSIDER ASPECTS SUCH AS CONTENT, TOPICS, VOCABULARY AND GRAMMAR, EXERCISES & ACTIVITIES, SUPPLEMENTARY MATERIALS (VIDEOS, PODCASTS…) ETC…

Vodpod videos no longer available.

USE VOICETHREAD YO ADD YOUR COMMENTS. IF YOU´VE NEVER USED THIS TOOL BEFORE, CLICK ON THE IMAGE BELOW TO FIND OUT.

VoiceThread

TO SPEAK OUT IS TO STATE YOUR OPINION PUBLICLY, SO, COME ON! IT´S YOUR TURN TO SPEAK OUT!!!!

speak-out

I´LL BE WAITING FOR YOUR COMMENTS.tha_you21

Posted on May 14, 2013, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 11 Comments.

  1. Hola Carmen!!

    Yo por motivos personales no pude acudir a las clases presenciales desde el principio de curso y me ha sido muy fácil utilizar y estudiar con Speakout.

    El libro de texto esta bien estructurado y clasificado, diferenciando cada una de las diferentes habilidades que se nos exige conocer. lo que me ha permitido incidir mas en aquello que necesitaba repasar, recordar o aprender.

    También he utilizado el Workbook para fijar y recordar lo estudiado en el libro de texto, pudiendo autoevaluarme y ver que necesitaba reforzar.

    Si analizo por Temas el libro:

    La gramática que enseña es muy sintética y resumida. Que para algunos temas es suficiente pero que en ocasiones he necesitado ampliarla con otros libros porque me ha parecido un poco pobre.

    El Vocabulario esta bien enfocado y relacionado con cada uno de los temas que se van tratando en el libro.

    En “Listening” y Pronunciación, hay muchos ejercicios de audio con diferentes acentos lo que permite enriquecer el reconocimiento de diferentes entonaciones.

    En Escritura no hay demasiados ejemplos con estructuras tipo como las que tu nos facilitabas en clase, solo algunas pinceladas que creo no son suficientes para afianzar la habilidad de escribir.

    Pero a pesar de lo comentado anteriormente, creo que es un buen libro que contiene de forma aunque sea resumida todo lo que teníamos que aprender.

    Espero que mi opinión te sea de utilidad

    Un Saludo

    Like

  2. Hi everyone, I’ve studied my last course with (speakout pre-intermediate) so, in my point of view it’s a great book to learn English. There are many videos about topics which help us to understand better than others books. But also, you able to read the transcription in your home while you are watching the topic. If you are interesting in vocabulary, each lesson contain a lot of new words that you can find and explain as phrasal verbs and many more.
    To sum up I prefer this kind of book it’s quite useful to listening and learning.

    I’m sure that you’ll forgive me my mistakes again. Thanks for your help.

    Like

  3. Hi Carmen,
    I’m going to try to explain in English, what I think about this book.
    The first thing I don’t like at all, It’s that after installing the CD, every time I want to open on my computer I have to introduce it, because It’s like a key, and It’s really uncomfortable, because I always have to have on hand. But the CD is very good especially podcasts and BBC documentaries.
    Talking about topics, I think it lacks of some ones and there are plenty of other.
    Grammar is insufficient, too summarized, and I always have to resort to a good book of grammar. And I think it doesn’t have enough examples and exercices.
    The vocabulary is good , but I think it’s better in the book face to face.
    It doesn’t too many phrasal verbs which are so necesary and important.
    Summery, in my opinion the best is the CD
    Thanks you for your support all the time during this course.
    You are the best!!!!
    See you

    Like

  4. Hi Carmen

    I believe it needs to improve the grammar bank and the tips for writing differents kinds of letters. You´ve given us some handouts about letters of advice, complaint…., tips for oral exams, for monologues, dialogues….. from other books and by yourself much more useful

    On the other hand, I´ve liked the Audio CD because you can download the files in a portable device and listen to them at any moment and eveywhere.

    Talking about the topics and vocabulary I think they´re quite suitable for the level and I´ve been able to learn new words, phrasal verbs and expressions.

    To sum up, from my point of view, although it´s not a grammar book they have to be accurate in the grammar bank.

    Like

  5. Hi Carmen,
    I was used to another book (New English file) I think this one is more complete and easier to use than the other one. There are good videos and the workbook is quite interesting. However I think the teacher is the most important in doing good or bad any book. On the other hand this book belongs to the BBC. I don’t like how this company puts advertising of theirs programs at the cost of learning English, this is one of the ways to privatize education, but this is what brings us the new law.
    Thank you for your patience and it has been a pleasure to learn with you another year.
    Roque

    Like

  6. Hi Carmen, This is a fantastic blog – you certainly have lucky students! Thank you all for the feedback. It is so useful for us (authors) to hear about what works and what needs more attention, especially at the moment when we are discussing the second edition. I’m glad you all enjoyed the videos and the listening material. We’ll work on improving the grammar and the way the CD works. Thanks for the feedback! Best wishes,
    Antonia Clare – (co-author of Speakout Pre-Intermediate / Intermediate / Advanced)

    Like

  7. THANKS FOR YOUR WORDS.I FEEL REALLY FLATTERED……. I´D LIKE TO KNOW WHETHER FRANCES GAVE YOU THE LINK TO SOME OF THE ACTIVITIES LINKED TO SPEAKOUT-INTERMEDIATE.
    IF SO, WHAT DO YOU THINK ABOUT THEM? I´D REALLY LIKE TO HEAR FROM YOU.
    ALL THE BEST
    CARMEN

    Like

  1. Pingback: YOUR COURSE-BOOK II (B1+) FEEDBACK | MCARGOBE´S BLOG-ROOM

Leave a Reply

Smart Up Your English

LEARN NEW WORDS, EXPRESSIONS, PHRASES...

Helendipity Weblog

learn English and share your experiences (SERENDIPITY= the accidental discovery of something pleasant and useful!)

Adrian Underhill's Pronunciation Site

Practical Discovery of English Pronunciation

Smart Up Your English

LEARN NEW WORDS, EXPRESSIONS, PHRASES...

Helendipity Weblog

learn English and share your experiences (SERENDIPITY= the accidental discovery of something pleasant and useful!)

Adrian Underhill's Pronunciation Site

Practical Discovery of English Pronunciation

