SOME ENGLISH IDIOMS (LOW B2)

  • WHAT DO ALL THESE IDIOMS HAVE IN COMMON?

Love-At-First-Sight-lfirst-come-first-served

 

~let_him_who_is-11372if-at-first-you-dont-succeed

IMAGINE THIS SITUATION:

“I went to ROME  last year and was talking to someone about it.”

IMG_1216 copia

A. This isn´t  the first time I’ve been to Rome.

B. That wasn´t  the first time I’d been to Rome.

WHICH SENTENCE IN CORRECT?

Posted on February 16, 2016, in WORDS, DON´T COME EASY! (VOCABULARY) and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. I’m not sure, but I’ll bet on the first one.
    I think the clue is “the first time”. We must use Present Perfect when we are talking about a recent event.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I would bet for the one too.

    Like

  3. I think two tenses are right

    Like

  4. I think like Ana, the first one because we have to use present Perfect when we are talking about a something recent.

    Like

  5. In my view, the correct sentence is the second one, because it refers a past action.

    Like

  6. In my opinion the second, because you are talking about a past action.

    Like

Leave a Reply

Smart Up Your English

LEARN NEW WORDS, EXPRESSIONS, PHRASES...

Helendipity Weblog

learn English and share your experiences (SERENDIPITY= the accidental discovery of something pleasant and useful!)

Adrian Underhill's Pronunciation Site

Practical Discovery of English Pronunciation

Smart Up Your English

LEARN NEW WORDS, EXPRESSIONS, PHRASES...

Helendipity Weblog

learn English and share your experiences (SERENDIPITY= the accidental discovery of something pleasant and useful!)

Adrian Underhill's Pronunciation Site

Practical Discovery of English Pronunciation

