SUGGESTIONS AND ADVICE (LOW B2)

A-businesswoman-with-her--008

“I’m fed up and frustrated  with my job– is it wrong to want more from my working life?”

JANE IS FED UP WITH HER JOB AS A PA AND IS THINKING ABOUT QUITTING.HER LETTER WAS PUBLISHED IN THE ADVICE COLUMN OF MCARGOBE´S BLOG SO THAT READERS CAN OFFER THEIR OWN ADVICE AND SUGGESTIONS.

“After 10 years or so working in a  large corporation I am fed up, and find that my personal principles are given no value because they do not conform with the bigger picture. I have never felt like I have fitted here anyway .

I find myself in tears of frustration at times because I can’t simply do what I am told without questioning the decisions. I am not a troublemaker or arrogant, but neither do I see the point of doing something valueless because it ticks a box somewhere. I can’t beat them but I can’t join them either, and I want out.

The only issue is I have absolutely no idea what I want to do and feel trapped by the nice salary. My creativity is totally drained and I don’t have any particular talents I am aware of. Colleagues have always said I should work in a creative industry, but I am not a creative (although I have just moved into communications).

I have a partner who thinks I am simply too emotional and should just get on with it. I am indeed emotional, and would like this – for once – to be used constructively. I need to take charge but I have no idea where to even start unravelling it all. Am I being too naive to want more for myself from my working life?”

READERS CAN SEND BRIEF POSTS GIVING HER A PIECE OF ADVICE. ANY SUGGESTIONS? WE´LL BE LOOKING FORWARD TO YOUR COMMENTS.

GRAMMAR FOR ADVICE AND SUGGESTIONS (CLICK ON THE PICTURE BELOW)

advice-and-suggestions-1-728

Posted on April 16, 2016, in DOCTOR GRAMMAR and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Hello, Jane. You wrote ‘I can’t beat them but I can’t join them either’ and, in my opinion that’s the point.

    You’re working in a large company, where everybody can contribute something interesting. Although it’s always advisable to give your point of view it’s also important to remember that, surely, the company has its own plan and, sometimes, there’s no sense in facing it. Seems like you’re hitting your head against the wall.

    Teamwork is essential, so try to avoid questioning everything; you’re wasting your energy and getting frustrated because you get no reward. It’s very useful to listen, to discuss the ideas with your workmates and to join efforts even when you don’t agree 100%, because you’ll enjoy when you notice that you’re part of the team and you get your goals.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Great reply, Paco.

    Like

Leave a Reply

Smart Up Your English

LEARN NEW WORDS, EXPRESSIONS, PHRASES...

Helendipity Weblog

learn English and share your experiences (SERENDIPITY= the accidental discovery of something pleasant and useful!)

Adrian Underhill's Pronunciation Site

Practical Discovery of English Pronunciation

Smart Up Your English

LEARN NEW WORDS, EXPRESSIONS, PHRASES...

Helendipity Weblog

learn English and share your experiences (SERENDIPITY= the accidental discovery of something pleasant and useful!)

Adrian Underhill's Pronunciation Site

Practical Discovery of English Pronunciation

