WRITING A BASIC FORMAL EMAIL A2

 

From: S C

To: Thai Cookery Courses In Chiang Mai

Subject: Information about courses
Dear Sir/Madam,
I am writing to ask for information about your Thai Cookery Courses. I am especially interested in an intensive course in August. I am 45 and I am unemployed at this moment. I cook quite well but I do not know Thai cookery and I want to learn it.
Could you please send me information about dates and prices of the course? I would also like some information about accommodation. I would like to stay with my husband. Would it be possible?

 

I look forward to hearing from you.
Yours faithfully
S C

Expresiones para escribir EMAILS y CARTAS formales

Opening – empezar la redaccíon

You don’t know their name – Si no sabes su nombre

Dear Sir/Dear Madam
Dear Sir or Madam
Dear Sales Manager (job title) – cargo

You know their name – si sabes el nombre

Dear Mr Smith
Dear Dr Smith
Dear Ms Smith
Dear Mrs Smith (married)

 

Ending – despedida

Yours faithfully (very formal!)
Yours sincerely

Reason for writing – razon por la cual escriben

• We are writing to…
• I am  writing to…
• Just a short e-mail to request / confirm / inform you that / ask if / clarify…

Attaching files – Adjuntar archivos

• I am attaching… / I have attached …
• Please find attached / enclosed…

Obtaining information – Obtener información

• Could you let me know  if…
• I would be interested to know  if…
• Would ! Could   you please send me…
• Please send me…
• Could you please send further details of…

Closing – Cerrar la redacción

• We would like to thank you in advance.
• I look forward to meeting/seeing….. you next week.
• I look forward to hearing from you.

• Do not hesitate to contact us again at (079) 221 4576 if you require further information ! details……
• If you have any further questions, please contact me by e-mail.
• Let me know if you need any more information! details…..

EXAMPLES

http://learnenglishteens.britishcouncil.org/skills/writing-skills-practice/more-formal-email

http://lawebdelingles.com/cartasemails-formales/email-formal-2/formal-email-nivel-a2/

Posted on May 3, 2016, in BITS & PIECES and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

Smart Up Your English

LEARN NEW WORDS, EXPRESSIONS, PHRASES...

Helendipity Weblog

learn English and share your experiences (SERENDIPITY= the accidental discovery of something pleasant and useful!)

Adrian Underhill's Pronunciation Site

Practical Discovery of English Pronunciation

Smart Up Your English

LEARN NEW WORDS, EXPRESSIONS, PHRASES...

Helendipity Weblog

learn English and share your experiences (SERENDIPITY= the accidental discovery of something pleasant and useful!)

Adrian Underhill's Pronunciation Site

Practical Discovery of English Pronunciation

