THE GENERATION GAP (1B2)

penny-lane-have-something-done-1

“AS A CHILD I USED TO BE VERY SHY AND PRETTY WELL-BEHAVED AT SCHOOL. HOWEVER, I REMEMBER PLAYING PRANKS AT HOME…. FOR EXAMPLE, I REMEMBER ONCE CUTTING OUR CAT´S WHISKERS…..SHE WENT ABSOLUTELY MAD!!!!!  I USED TO SPEND HOURS READING BECAUSE MY DAD, WHO USED TO BE AWAY FOR LONG PERIODS OF TIME, TAUGHT ME HOW TO READ WHEN I WAS 5, ……..AS YOU CAN SEE IN THE PHOTO ABOVE.

WHEN I WAS A KID I USED TO HAVE LONG HAIR AND I WOULD “PLAY ELASTICS“. HAVE YOU EVER HEARD OF IT? I REALLY LOVED IT AND WAS QUITE GOOD AT IT. THIS IS THE SOUNDTRACK OF MY CHILDHOOD…… JUST FOR A LAUGH”

WHAT KIND OF CHILD WERE YOU……?

WHAT DID YOU USE TO DO?

THIS SONG IS CALLED ” SOMEBODY THAT I USED TO KNOW” IS IT POSSIBLE TO SAY “WOULD” IN THIS CONTEXT?

WHAT´S THE DIFFERENCE BETWEEN THESE TWO FORMS WHEN TALKING ABOUT PAST HABITS?

Posted on November 23, 2016, in DOCTOR GRAMMAR, UNCATEGORIZED and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. As a child I used to be very active and restless. When I was a child I used to buy joke goods and I remember too playing pranks my siblings. it was fun!!…for me. I used to go everywhere with my familly. When I was a boy I would go to the beach in summer holidays with the rest of my family. I remember those fantastic days with nostalgia.

    Nowadays, my energy is not what it used to be. I am an easy-going man.

    If I haven’t read wrong, you can use both when you tell something about past habits but, you can only use “would” when you are talking about repetitive actions with movement verbs.

    For instance, In that sentence we can’t use “would” because the verb “to know” is not a movement verb.

    See you!!

    Liked by 2 people

  2. “TOO” goes at the end of a sentence, not in the middle.
    playing pranks on my siblings
    in summer AND on holiday OR on my summer holidays.
    YOU ARE RIGHT, FERNANDO, YOU CAN ONLY USE “WOULD” (FOR PAST HABITS) WITH ACTION VERBS

    Like

Leave a Reply

Smart Up Your English

LEARN NEW WORDS, EXPRESSIONS, PHRASES...

Helendipity Weblog

learn English and share your experiences (SERENDIPITY= the accidental discovery of something pleasant and useful!)

Adrian Underhill's Pronunciation Site

Practical Discovery of English Pronunciation

Smart Up Your English

LEARN NEW WORDS, EXPRESSIONS, PHRASES...

Helendipity Weblog

learn English and share your experiences (SERENDIPITY= the accidental discovery of something pleasant and useful!)

Adrian Underhill's Pronunciation Site

Practical Discovery of English Pronunciation

