GIVING ADVICE (A2)(B1)

DO YOU KNOW THIS SONG?

WHEN DO YOU USE SHOULD? TO GIVE ADVICE.

Giving Advice

" If I were in your place…

This page lists useful phrases for the language function of giving advice and recommendations to other people.

Elementary

  1. (I think/I really think) you should …
  2. How about …?
  3. What about…?
  4. It is usually a good idea to …
  5. My suggestion/advice is (to) …
  6. Why don’t you …?
  7. You could (try) … .

Pre-Intermediate

  1. Have you tried …?
  2. I (would) (strongly) suggest/advise that …
  3. If I was/were you, I’d …
  4. In my experience, … works really well.
  5. It’s generally best/a good idea to…
  6. One idea is to …
  7. One thing you could/should/have to do is …
  8. The best/most important thing (to do) is to …

should

Posted on March 23, 2017, in UNCATEGORIZED. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Hi, Carmen!! How are you!! I hope you’re happy. I suppose you know Cristina has given up work and now we haven’t teacher. A littel problem not?. I’m thinking not to do the exam in May and the next year, to repeat the course, so I’ll learn better the next Certificate.
    Well, thank you in advance to read this words. See you.

    Like

Leave a Reply

Smart Up Your English

LEARN NEW WORDS, EXPRESSIONS, PHRASES...

Helendipity Weblog

learn English and share your experiences (SERENDIPITY= the accidental discovery of something pleasant and useful!)

Adrian Underhill's Pronunciation Site

Practical Discovery of English Pronunciation

Smart Up Your English

LEARN NEW WORDS, EXPRESSIONS, PHRASES...

Helendipity Weblog

learn English and share your experiences (SERENDIPITY= the accidental discovery of something pleasant and useful!)

Adrian Underhill's Pronunciation Site

Practical Discovery of English Pronunciation

