Daily Archives: April 9, 2017

GERUND OR INFINITIVE? (B1)


LISTEN TO THIS GOLDEN OLDIE. WHAT´S IT CALLED?
WHAT DOES THE TITLE TELL YOU ABOUT THE USE OF THE INFINITIVE AND GERUND?

 

 

 

TO INFINITIVE

  • AFTER SOME VERBS (page 158 PART 1)

“I need to practise more”

“I want to get married soon”, etc…

  • AFTER ADJECTIVES

“This is difficult to remember”

  • TO EXPRESS PURPOSE (finalidad)

“I study English to study abroad”

  • AFTER QUESTION WORDS: WHO, WHAT, HOW…..

“I don´t know what to do”

-ING (=GERUND)

  • AFTER CERTAIN VERBS (page 158 PART 2)

“I hate ironing”

  • AFTER PREPOSITIONS

“I very often dream of moving abroad”

  • AS THE SUBJECT

“Speaking is the most difficult part of any foreign language”

INFINITIVE WITHOUT TO

  • AFTER MODAL VERBS (WITH THE EXCEPTION OF “OUGHT TO”

“I  could swim when I was 5”

“You must´t use your mobile phone in exams”

  • AFTER “MAKE,”LET” & “”HELP”

“Peeling onions makes me cry”

“My mum does´t let me go out at night”

“Can you help me (to) do this exercise?”

 

YOU CAN TRY THE BASIC + INTERMEDIATE EXERCISES

GERUND & INFINITIVE QUIZ

Smart Up Your English

LEARN NEW WORDS, EXPRESSIONS, PHRASES...

Helendipity Weblog

learn English and share your experiences (SERENDIPITY= the accidental discovery of something pleasant and useful!)

Adrian Underhill's Pronunciation Site

Practical Discovery of English Pronunciation

Smart Up Your English

LEARN NEW WORDS, EXPRESSIONS, PHRASES...

Helendipity Weblog

learn English and share your experiences (SERENDIPITY= the accidental discovery of something pleasant and useful!)

Adrian Underhill's Pronunciation Site

Practical Discovery of English Pronunciation