“NEVER CAN SAY GOODBYE” (ALL LEVELS)

Dear students, ex-students and followers

After 37 years as a teacher of English, I’m going to retire at the end of this school year and I’m struggling to find a cool way to say goodbye. I hate “goodbyes” since, as the song says, “every time I say goodbye, I die a little” … Life is too short and time flies, believe me!!! . Retirement is not the end, it’s just a new beginning and I am really excited and truly involved in other projects at the moment. However, I’m leaving with the great concern of the present situation for State Language Schools (EOIs). They are going through a critical moment of cuts that affect not only teachers, but also students and the number of groups available. We have to fight to prevent the dismantling of this kind of “public language education” (in-person, not virtual) , which does not exist in any other European country.

As we reach the end of our journey together, I’d like to write a few words to say THANK YOU  and to let you know how much I appreciate the great effort you’ve been making as well as your hard work. Learning a language is not an easy task. There may have been moments of frustration along the way. However, I want you to remember that progress is not always measured by perfection (PASS). Each step forward, no matter how small, is a significant achievement. Embrace your mistakes as opportunities to improve and keep pushing forward. It is through effort and perseverance that you will get better and reach higher levels of proficiency.

Results could have been demoralizing for some of you despite your heroic efforts to learn. Sometimes it was really difficult to catch up…. Please know that every decision I made was with your best interests at heart, and I hope it has helped you on your language learning journey. I remind you that “training courses” (“cursos complementarios”) could be a good option for you next year as well as “refreshment courses”(“cursos de actualización) You shouldn’t give up.

As your teacher, I feel proud of you , “you passed the test with flying colours” no matter what the final results were (pass or fail), as long as you think that you learned something, are taking steps forward and did not waste your time . I hope to have made the right decisions, anyway…. Despite the difficulties I DID enjoy teaching YOU and it means a lot to me to know that you also enjoyed my classes and appreciate my effort. It has been an absolute pleasure to teach and guide you… I’m sure I’ll miss you.

Enjoy your summer, you deserve it and good luck ( for those taking further exams)!!

CARMEN

Posted on May 30, 2024, in BITS & PIECES and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 9 Comments.

  1. Dear teacher,

    thank you for all this years. For me, it has been an honor be part of your students.

    Enjoy your new life.

    Best regards

    Pam

    Like

  2. Thanks, Paloma. I have also been very lucky and fortunate to meet people like you, I will always keep in my heart.

    All the best

    Like

  3. Dear teacher Carmen,

    Seeing your work in class and on your blog I realised you love teaching, even in this difficult time for it.

    It has been a great luck to have you as a teacher this year.

    I wish you all the best and I hope see you signing books soon!

    -Pablo_

    Like

  4. Gisela Almerich Fuster

    Dear teacher!

    We’ll miss you a lot! I wish you enjoy your retirement.

    XXX

    Like

  5. To: one of the teachers I’ve ever known From: Paqui Dear Carmen, It has been a pleasure to meet you. You are a hard-working, motivating, empathetic teacher. You made us love the world of English. I’ll always keep you in my heart. Thank you for everything!! Enjoy your retirement time ; ) all the best!!

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Film English

by Kieran Donaghy

Blog de Cristina

ADD YOUR OWN SPICE TO YOUR LEARNING

Sobre Educación: reflexiones y propuestas.

ADD YOUR OWN SPICE TO YOUR LEARNING

Rosa Liarte

ADD YOUR OWN SPICE TO YOUR LEARNING

natalialzam

English teacher

MCARGOBE´S BLOG-ROOM

ADD YOUR OWN SPICE TO YOUR LEARNING

Smart Up Your English

LEARN NEW WORDS, EXPRESSIONS, PHRASES...

Helendipity

learn English and share your experiences (SERENDIPITY= the accidental discovery of something pleasant and useful!)